Finding My Tribe

 

Northern Ambition

Last weekend Kelly, my friend and Cap City Blogger Network co-founder, and I were asked to speak at a new event in Sacramento called Northern Ambition. The goal of the event was to bring creative women together and “change the world through pursuing our passions and helping others find theirs.”

As a vocal supporter of collaboration over competition, especially when it comes to my fellow lady friends, I was completely on board and excited to attend the event. When we were approached by Northern Ambition about speaking Kelly was excited and I was mainly in a nervous sweat.

It wasn’t so much the speaking in public part of the equation as it was accepting my role as “expert person that belongs on a stage in front of people.” My brain went into insecurity overdrive a little bit as I wondered why would people care what we have to say, what we would bring to the table that is new/interesting, and what  we would do if everyone is checking snapchat the whole time we are talking.

Ultimately I decided to give the insecure thought process the finger and fully embrace this opportunity, even if it scared the shit out of me. We started planning out our discussion points and I recited my speech to my husband about 7.2 million times.  In the back of my head I was still afraid everyone would get up and leave en masse as soon as we took the stage, but Kelly reminded me that would actually be a best case scenario because then I would have no reason to be nervous.

One of the topics we felt strongly about including was the importance of finding your tribe. Listen up because this isn’t just for creatives, everyone needs a tribe. What usually ends up varying is who is included in your tribe and what value they bring to your life.

As a blogger and business owner that runs most of my life out of an office I created in a closet space life can feel a little isolated sometimes. My tribe consists of my family, friends, and blog audience (hey, that’s YOU). Not to get all mushy, but I feel like we would be pretty good friends if we met in real life. My tribe helps me make decisions, gets me through bad days (don’t ever stop sending me unicorn and donut posts, I love every single one), and reminds me that most of life should not be taken seriously.

So when I took the stage last weekend I walked up, still feeling nervous, but with the knowledge that my tribe had my back. Even if the entire audience was watching snapchat videos of cats high-fiving each other (this exists) instead of listening to our talk, my tribe was there cheering me on the whole time.  Also thanks for encouraging me to wear the gold sequin jacket, it was a great decision.

The size of your tribe is not as important as the members, they should be carefully selected. How do you cultivate a tribe? Follow the instructions of a wise instagram quote I read that said “Your vibe attracts your tribe.” Who do you trust to give advice? What kind of person are you willing to go the extra mile for? Be that person and find those people. Pro tip: donuts help, that is how I bonded with most of my tribe members in Sacramento. Personally I try to be a person who is honest, giving, and a champion for others so I hope it goes without saying that my tribe is pretty bad ass.

I guess in a long-winded way I’m saying thanks for taking the ride with me. I hope you know that if you ever need someone to cheer you on, drag you through a terrifying situation, or give an opinion about your hair (it looks amazing) I’m in your tribe.

3 thoughts on “Finding My Tribe

  1. I’m glad you went with the glittery jacket too, you looked awesome! I’m glad blogging introduced you into my little world. Love your posts, your enthusiasm for your new city, and your unicorn/doughnut love! Gah, I would have sweated through that jacket with nerves, so I admire you getting up there and doing your thang girlfriend! xoxo, ganeeban

Hey Girl, what do you say?

