Hey Girl Top Five: National Donut Day Edition

photo and bag by Semi Sweet Press
photo and bag by Semi Sweet Press

 

This year the stars and the calendar aligned for National Donut Day because it happens to fall ON MY BIRTHDAY! I am obviously using this as an excuse to eat as many donuts as I want without any regret (because normally I would never do that, hahahaha).

First of all let’s settle the doughnut vs. donut debate. According to The Grammarist “The dictionary-approved spelling for the ring-shaped cake made of dough and fried in fat is doughnut. The shortened donut has been around since the late 1800s, but it wasn’t popularized until the late 20th century, when the successful American doughnut chain Dunkin’ Donuts made it ubiquitous.” What does this mean? Spell it however the heck you want to, just get out and eat one (or six) today.

I have been fortunate enough to travel a bit the last few years and you better believe I am always on the lookout for a good donut spot in every city I visit. My friends and I lovingly refer to these donut trips as “research” and you would not believe how much research you need to do on a donut place before you can decide if it is delicious or not. It might take me 3 or 4 trips in one vacation! So in honor of my favorite holiday and birthday both landing on June 5th I am counting down my top 5 donut “research” experiences.

I also have a small gift for you, from one donut lover to another, the Donuteum Deliciosus tote pictured above, and all other donut themed merchandise, is 20% off today over at the Semi Sweet Press website when you use the code DONUTDAY

Hey Girl Top 5 Donuts (so far)

 

5. Top Pot Doughnuts Seattle, WA

Top Pot

I was in Seattle in April for a conference and  was thrilled to find that Top Pot was within walking distance of my hotel. Top Pot is a wonderful mix of the classic donut shop  feel but with better coffee and interior design. Their donuts are “hand forged” which I am now sure is a synonym for “addicting.” On my last day in Seattle I spent a quiet morning in Top Pot with a blueberry glazed cake donut and coffee writing out post cards to my niece and nephew. With the grey skies and drizzle happening outside it was a wonder I ever left that day.

4. M + M Donuts Anaheim, CA

 

There are a few things you should know if you decide to make a stop at M + M Donuts next time you are near Anaheim. First, they don’t open for business until 9:00pm. Second, you should be prepared to wait. Third, you only need to order the blueberry donuts. At times the wait for M + M has been as long as two hours, but trust me when I say it is worth every minute. The blueberry donuts are made fresh to order and you should eat them while they are still warm. It feels like the donut is hugging you, and who wouldn’t love a donut hug?

 3. Marie’s Donuts Sacramento, CA

sprinkles

This is my hometown donut shop that is dangerously close to my house. Marie’s is a pretty no frills operation. There is no drive through, or even seating area, instead there is a parking lot with 4 spaces and a walk up window where you order. They do an amazing job at the classic flavors  but my personal favorite is the blueberry cake donut. Hey Girl Tip: Marie’s opens for business at 11pm most nights, perfect for midnight snacks.

2. Sidecar Doughnuts & Coffee

    Costa Mesa, CA

sidecar

My best friend took me here a couple years ago when she lived in Irvine and now I try to stop in for a fix anytime I am in the LA area. Their featured flavors for June are apricots with soured cream, blueberry cheesecake, raspberry, chocolate malt, apple fritter, and lemon yellow.  If that wasn’t enough to get you in the door they also donate a percentage of their sales from a featured monthly donut  to a local organization, for June it is the 4Life Animal Rescue. So basically the more donuts you eat the more you help, so it is probably best to start with a dozen.

1. District: Donuts.Sliders.Brew

     New Orleans, LA

Today's donuts! #districtdonuts #Nola

A post shared by District Donuts.Sliders.Brew. (@districtdonuts) on

 

I legitimately stumbled upon this place while staying in the Garden District of New Orleans a few years ago.  I was looking for the sandwich and bottle shop that is located right next door (also delicious, but this is not a sandwich countdown) and popped in the second I saw the word donut on the sign. I could not even comprehend the flavor combinations I was reading off the menu. The next morning I dragged my husband with me to stuff our faces. I had a Mexican hot chocolate donut that forever changed my life, it was sweet at the first bite but then left you with a tiny bit of heat once you had finished chewing. If you go here just do yourself a favor and order everything, seriously. We came back the next day for lunch and the sliders were equally as delicious as the donuts. I always tell people that I can’t wait to get back to NOLA for the people and the culture, but it might also be for the donuts!

 

Got a place I should add to my “research” list? leave it in the comments. Happy Donut Day!

 

9 comments

  1. First, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! I am enjoying a chocolate donut with ‘Murrica sprinkles in your honor.

    Second, thanks for adding to my Places I Must Visit list (which now coincides nicely with the Donuts I Must Eat list). If they were still open I would have put Doughbot on this list, but alas 😦 I also absolutely support the inclusion of Marie’s. I was a McClatchy kid, so I was practically raised on Oscar’s #23 breakfast burritos and 4am Marie’s donuts. And I turned out OK!

    • Thank You!! So glad to hear you are enjoying my favorite breakfast food on my holiday 🙂 I am sad I didn’t make it to Doughbot before they closed their doors but Marie’s is always a winner. I might have been there last night at 11:00pm when they opened ha ha

  2. Okay, research at Chicken + Donuts when you get back to AZ. I’m always a sucker for the old school Bosa Donuts. And it just about kills me to type d o n u t s…it’s doughnuts.

  3. Agreed. Chicken and donuts in Phoenix is amazing. And I don’t even (gasp) like doughnuts….🍩🙈.
    Also. See what I did there. With the spelling….

Hey Girl, what do you say?

