Chase the Flavors: Pecan & Bourbon Lace Cookies with Cocoa Nibs

buttercookie4
Photo By Chase the Flavors

 Say Hey Girl Guest Post from Mallory at Chase the Flavors:

I’m awfully grateful for every moment I get to spend with the strong and inspiring women in my life.

Women’s History Month is an apt celebration of the contributions that women have made to history over the years, but for me it’s a reminder to say thank you to the incredible women who surround me.

To be female is powerfully different for everyone. I take it as being utterly who you are, which is embodying many characteristics that are always transforming. For me, femininity is about unlocking the strength in oneself and the empowering it in others.

As a personal celebration of this month, I’ve been keeping a list of the people who inspire me, the things I love, my hobbies and pursuits. I think that sometimes following your passions means taking time to reflect on what they are and on the things that shape them, namely the people who inspire you. So, whatever it is that you do that fills you, do it. And make sure to give a heartfelt “get it girl” to those lovely women in your life as they do the same.

One of the things on my list is book club. I’m a librarian so of course I’m an enthusiastic supporter of book clubs, but I love them because they are just as much about connecting with friends as they are about engaging books. Not to mention, they are an excellent excuse for delicious foods and cocktails. Right now my friends and I are reading “Broken Monsters” by Lauren Beukes for our monthly ladies book club. I’m looking forward to sharing these pecan and bourbon lace cookies at our next gathering. Lace cookies are easy to love because they are quick, fun and crazy-delicious. Bonus – top them with Askinosie cocoa nibs for the perfect fruity crunch. These lace cookies use very little flour and turn out beautifully with gluten-free flour or flour substitutes like almond flour. You can skip the bourbon, if desired, or replace with an extra tablespoon of maple syrup.

buttercookie2
Photo By Chase the Flavors

Pecan & Bourbon Lace Cookies with Cocoa Nibs

Makes 12 cookies

1 cup raw pecans, ground

5 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons maple syrup

2 tablespoons corn syrup

1 tablespoon bourbon

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup flour

1 teaspoon orange zest

Askinosie cocoa nibs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two half-sheet pans with parchment paper and set aside.

Grind pecans in a food processor until they are finely chopped, then set aside. Combine unsalted butter, brown sugar, maple syrup and corn syrup in a small saucepan over medium-high heat. Heat until the butter is melted and the sugar is dissolved. Stir in bourbon and vanilla extract, then add salt, flour and orange zest and mix until well combined.

Remove from heat and drop the batter onto the half-sheet pans, six cookies per sheet, using about a tablespoon of batter for each cookie. They will spread out considerably during the last half of baking, so make sure to leave at least 4 inches between cookies.

When I make these I generally bake in two batches. Bake the first cookie sheet for 10 minutes, remove from oven, sprinkle with cocoa nibs and let cool. Repeat with the second cookie sheet and enjoy!

buttercookie3
Photo By Chase the Flavors

MalloryWant to see more of Mallory’s mouthwatering food and cocktail recipes? Follow her over on Chase the Flavors!

Hey Girl, what do you say?

