Hey Girl, Be Your Own Valentine

HeyGirlValentine

A few years ago, when I was single, I decided that Valentines Day needs to be a more inclusive holiday. Instead of celebrating traditional ideas of love I think the entire day should be dedicated to putting as much love into the universe as possible. When it comes to spreading the love, start with yourself first.

Last year for Valentines Day I challenged myself, and some of the women in my life, to write love letters to themselves and the results were amazing. While it may seem like a simple task at first I found it very difficult to write. I felt like I was bragging, but then I thought “well why shouldn’t I brag? I am pretty kick ass” and from there it turned into an exercise in confidence building. The letters these women wrote, and shared with my blog readers, were brave, inspiring, and made me tear up a little. Now on days where that negative voice creeps into my head I pull up that post  as a reminder to breathe, accept, and believe in myself.

This year I am back with new letters from new kick ass women. I hope their words inspire you to write your own letter, because there is no shame in proclaiming your awesomeness.

Happy Valentines Day Girl

xoxo
Maria


Kristin, Owner Semi Sweet Press

Hey there,

I just wanted to say that I love you, even though I don’t say it enough. I love that you get bored easily, which drives you to take risks, even when you’re scared. I love that you never settle for mediocrity. You’re super picky, even when it comes to friends, but that only means that your friends are the most amazing people on the planet.

I love that you know when to ignore logic and trust your guts. Like getting married at 18. Who would have thought you’d still be married after 16 years? Well, you did.

I love that you’ve made a conscious decision to learn from your mistakes and be a better person for it. It’s gotten you where you are today, and I’m so proud of you.

Love,
KristinP.S. The hair that you once hated because it was so different than everyone else, well, I love that too. 🙂

Stephanie, Blogger at Musings of a Girly Tomboy

Hi You!

You’re smile is what first attracts most people, but it’s your wit and ability to be genuine that keeps them around. Remember to be kind to yourself, I love and embrace every wiggle and jiggle on that strong body of yours. Don’t put yourself down, because you don’t always meet the crazy high expectation you have for yourself and your body.

Say thank you to compliments, you deserve them. Don’t apologize for being yourself, wholeheartedly. Those that love you, and there are plenty, appreciate that part of your personality.

Your body is strong and can be pushed to limits you have yet to test it. When your motivation is down, remember those good moments in a race or a during a soccer game that you are being the best version of yourself. It is okay to care about your appearance, but remember to work on yourself from the inside out. You are an amazing person, but know that not everyone will have the chance to realize this. Keep being honest and putting yourself out there, that’s what makes you the best version of yourself.

I love how you go out of your way to make sure those you love are taken care of, big or small gestures alike. Your passion for writing handwritten notes and cards is your trademark, don’t ever give it up. I love how open you are to meeting new people and making them feel instantly comfortable. I appreciate your passion for writing and hope you don’t lose that, ever. Your voice is strong and you should express yourself in any way that makes you smile.

Keep being the best friend, daughter, sister, and woman you can be. There is always someone who you can inspire, even if you don’t see or hear from them. These words shouldn’t be so hard, but I love you. I love the woman you have become! I promise to say this to you more often; you definitely deserve to hear it.

Xoxo,

Me

Mallory, Blogger at Chase The Flavors

Hey!

I love that you love lists and daily/weekly/monthly plans. It’s great for time management and it help you make the most of this very precious life. That said, don’t freak out about uncertainty and do you best to relax when plans shift and disintegrate. Chaos is really beautiful too, you know.

I love that your singing voice is far from lovely, but you sing anyway. The same holds true for your ability to dance and do most coordinated sports.

You’ll always be a long distance runner.

I love that you’re creative and unafraid to take on new projects, too many projects and massive ideas. You’re a dreamer with a heart for enriching the community around you and connecting people with things and people they’ll love.

Embrace your missteps and learn from them, but don’t ever let shame or fear of failure keep you from trying.

Love,

Mallory

Hey Girl, what do you say?

