Hey Girl Gets Hitched

Over Thanksgiving weekend my husband (still not used to that one) and I got the CD of our wedding photos, I spent the next 3 days staring at them. Usually seeing myself in pictures or video makes my stomach turn, I always think I look weirdly posed and awkward, but I can say with confidence that all of the images from our day captured us perfectly as a couple.

Our wedding was laid back and we broke lots of traditions, including seeing each other before the ceremony and opting out of cake cutting (gasp!), and neither of us felt a twinge of guilt..from beginning to end this party was about us. Long ago when we started the planning phase we identified the key objectives that would guide all decisions for the wedding:

1. Intimate
2. Good food
3. Good wine
4. FUN

As the date crept closer people would ask me “are you stressed?” and were shocked when I shrugged my shoulders and delivered the standard answer of “I just need Shawn to show up, everything else will figure itself out.” Guess what? It did, in the most magical way possible! The ceremony and reception were held outside at a small vineyard in Buellton, CA called Lavender Oak. All of the flowers were purchased from the Solvang farmers market days before and expertly arranged by people who love us very much and have no professional floral arrangement experience. The ceremony was held in what we lovingly referred to as “the pen” that housed a beautiful Oak tree. Upon arrival we had a drink station where guests could choose from red or white wine on tap (yes, seriously best invention ever!). Dinner was catered from a BBQ food truck, bacon cheddar hush puppies is all I’m saying, and then we danced, laughed, and made s’mores (better than an overpriced cake in our opinion). I don’t remember what time everyone left or what time we went to bed, what I do remember is looking around and feeling grateful and lucky to be surrounded by people who love us and reflected that love tenfold throughout the whole ceremony and reception. The wedding was dreamy and magical, but being married to someone who is my biggest supporter, while still challenging me to dream bigger, and is always there when I need to fall apart (or just need a glass of wine) is better than any big party I could ever dream up. Now is where I shut up and let the pictures speak for themselves:

Lavendar Oak

Grab a Glass

WIne on Tap

Flowers

The Pen

Georgia's Smokehouse food truck
Georgia’s Smokehouse food truck
Our wedding party consisted of the two most beautiful women: my sister and Shawn's daughter.
Our wedding party consisted of the two most beautiful women: my sister and Shawn’s daughter.

Married

all photos by Candia Flynn Photogrpahy

5 comments

  1. Gorgeous! What lovely photos and you were a stunning bride, he looks pretty good too!! I love weddings 😉

  2. I loved reading about your wedding and seeing a sampling of the photos. Lexi and I think your flowers were gorgeous and so are you. I wish more people would have weddings that were less extravagant. So happy for you both.

  3. Looks like you had a wonderful photographer to capture your perfect ceremony! I was the same as you when I got married – I wasn’t really concerned with the details. Running late? What are they gonna do – start without me? Entrance music didn’t work? Used our piper instead for live music. The end result is you are married and that’s all that matters!

Hey Girl, what do you say?

