Phone Detox

Phone Detox

In an effort to cut down on my face to screen time, and increase my monthly savings a tiny bit, I recently dropped down the data plan for my phone. I did some very sophisticated math over donuts and figured that most of my time is spent working from home or a cafe, both of which have WiFi, so I should never even get close to a data overage. I’m big enough to admit when I’m wrong. Five days before my billing cycle, and one day after I arrived in Hawaii for vacation, I received the dreaded email I was currently at 95% of my data usage until the end of my billing cycle. I am fully aware that upping my data plan is not that expensive, but I didn’t want to take the easy way out. Instead I decided to break up with my phone, the internet, and all useful apps (mainly Yelp and Pinterest) for the duration of my vacation.

I really hate to admit how tied to my phone I am. In addition to my own personal Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter I manage accounts for a few organizations I work with so it is sort of always running in the back of my head. I have gotten pretty good about checking feeds at specific times during the day, rather than every time I have a down second, which has worked out well. But I have never just cast my phone to the side and said “screw it!” At first it felt really good, but then I got worried. What if I miss an important email or notification? I persisted, no phone. I focused on enjoying present experiences and company instead.

Did I run back and check my phone every time I was in the room (because free wifi) ? Yes, I did. Did I post several amazing sunset pictures and a status update from my fiance’s phone? Yes. Was there any revolutionary Facebook emergencies or Tweets that I missed? No. After I settled in to being disconnected it started to feel really nice, I would stare at my phone before I drifted off to sleep and think “don’t know, don’t care.” I wasn’t checking my email first thing in the morning or watching cat videos over breakfast. I sat out on the lanai and drank coffee in my bathing suit – sans phone, sans responsibilities, and reveled. By the end of my vacation (and the beginning of my new billing cycle) I was kind of dreading being connected again.

So even though I’m back from vacay and  I have a new data plan to burn though with social media updates and cat videos I have decided to implement some disconnect time in my every day life. Once a week I’m going to unplug and reconnect with people in my immediate proximity. I am declaring this time “Screen Free Sundays” and I invite you to join me. No phones, no, social media, no TV, no iPad, no distractions. Instead get off your ass and meet someone new, go explore a new city, or just read a book in your backyard with a refreshing glass of sun tea. This is a great opportunity to enjoy time by yourself or give people in your life you love a dose of undivided attention. I promise all the emails, tweets, instagrams, status updates, and cat videos will be waiting for you come Monday.

Are you up for the challenge?

One comment

Hey Girl, what do you say?