Ciao From Italy

Friends I ran away to Italy, and I’m not sure I’m ever coming back. This trip has nonstop since I landed last Sunday. The first city I called home was the beautiful coastal town of Rimini. The fun part of Rimini was I made it, but my luggage did not. So I did a little thing I like to call “sink laundry” and promptly bought a bathing suit, cover up, and flip flops…I was sure this would be all I needed until my luggage showed up.

Beach view in Rimini

20140616-135809.jpg

Me in my cover up/dinner dress purchased on the 2nd day

20140616-135834.jpg

After sufficient sun worshiping on the beaches of Rimini I hopped a train bound for the Italian Countryside, and a town I call my happy place, Cortona. I spent a day in Cortona about 7 years ago and have been dying to get back ever since. Cortona is a walled city that is quiet, walkable, has sweeping views of Tuscany, and home of the best pasta I’ve ever eaten in my life.

Cortona City Hall (where I watched 5 separate weddings happen on a Saturday)

20140616-140525.jpg

Sunset View

20140616-140717.jpg

Me trying to stow away in the back alleys of Cortona

20140616-141104.jpg

Yesterday I transferred from Cortona to Siena where I will be until Tuesday. Cloudy skies and a few sprinkles are hanging around but it is a nice break from the warm summer weather I will be heading back home to soon.

20140616-141125.jpg

Piazza Del Campo

20140616-141735.jpg

Did I mention that my international plug adapter is not working so I’m charging my external battery on the US electric shaver adapter in my Italian bathrooms and posting everything from my phone? Because I totally am. Free wifi here is hard to find and mostly pretty crappy so I wrote this from my phone at a wine bar. Thanks for giving me an excuse to drink more. I promise to give you a full recap of the trip (and ALL of the pastries I ate) when I’m home.

I hope you are having an amazing start to your summer as well! From Siena I head to Florence, please let me know if you have food/drink/fun recommendations in the comments! If you want to tag along for the adventure follow me on Instagram (I can guarantee lots of pastry pictures). Talk soon beautiful friends!

20140616-142839.jpg

Hey Girl, what do you say?

