Birthday Flashback

Hey Girl Mini

 

Oh, hey! Welcome to the next year of my life, I’m glad you’re here. I don’t bemoan birthdays, getting older is something I have no control over and worrying about something you can’t control really just makes you an asshat – so let’s not do that, OK? Instead I use birthdays to see how far I have come, appreciate the hard lessons life has taught me, and remember to be grateful for everyone that has shown up for me in this life (that includes you reading this). This year I thought about where I was ten years ago, and how it felt like it was an entire lifetime ago. I thought about making this post a “Letter to My 22 Year Old Self” but the letter would be short:

Hey Girl,

Here are a few things I want you to keep in mind, see you in 10 years. Embrace the challenges, you are strong enough to handle all of them. Be grateful for every opportunity. Work hard, people notice.  Beautiful and smart are not mutually exclusive, when you believe both about yourself you will be pretty unstoppable. KEEP WRITING

xo

Future Maria

 

So instead I made a list comparing my life preferences at 22 vs 32. Like I said…a lifetime ago!  What would your list look like?

 

Bday List

Also in honor of Beyonce making the list both times here is the official theme song for this Birthday:

 

 

2 comments

  1. You are an AMAZING grown woman! So glad I’ve been around to see you come into your own in the past 10 years. It just keeps getting better and better. Muah!!!!

Hey Girl, what do you say?

