DIY: Transit Ticket Magnets

If I had to list my favorite things in life it would look something like:

1. Travel

2. A well tailored dress

3. Warm donuts

4. A good pair of patent leather pumps in a bright color

5. Hot showers (it’s where I do my best brainstorming/world domination planning)

I feel like I am a little unique in that when I travel places I am not really a “things” collector. I don’t need a shot glass, T-shirt, or key chain to remember the trip. The things I would want to bring back are the intangibles, like the made fresh daily pizza I had in Rome with a view of the Colosseum, or the oysters and champagne I had on a tiny cobblestone restaurant patio in France, or the feeling I had when I rode the tallest swing carousel in the world in Vienna with my best friend.

I also believe while traveling there is a lot of value in using the local forms of transportation. You get to see the city and it’s people from a much more authentic perspective than you do out the window of a taxi cab. Will you probably get lost? Yes. Will getting lost probably lead you to stumble upon something you never would have seen had you taken a taxi? Yes. Will people ignore your confusion and berate you if you ask for directions? No, this has never happened to me ever.

My one “thing” I collect while traveling is transportation tickets, tokens, and cards so eventually I ended up with a giant pile of them stashed away in a drawer somewhere, until now! I decided I wanted to display them somehow so I every time I looked at them it would be like a mini day dream/flashback. Where would I put these little treasures where I would see them on a regular basis? The refrigerator obviously! So here is how to turn your own travel tickets, hotel keys, concert tickets, etc into magnets (I used airline shuttle tickets from a trip to France):

 

What You Will Need:

black heavy card-stock, scissors, your ticket, tacky glue, and adhesive magnetic tape.

1. Cut 2 strips of the magnetic tape the same length as your ticket

Travel Ticket Magnet Supplies

2. Trace the outline of your ticket on to the black card-stock, cut it out, and glue to the back of your ticket.
Glue it Gurl

3. When card-stock backing is dry attach adhesive magnetic tape onto the top and bottom edges:

Attach Magnetic Strip

4. Throw it up on your fridge and enjoy!

Gosling called

What would you turn into a magnet?

 

2 comments

  1. GENIOUS!! Now I know what to do with all of Payton’s “crap” from his various travels!! He needs the shot glass. But he also collects brochures, tickets, receipts, programs, etc…

Hey Girl, what do you say?

