Hey Girl Valentine

Screen shot 2014-02-14 at 10.48.46 AM

For me Valentines Day has never been about flowers or restaurant reservations. Instead I use it as a day to tell people in my life how much I love and appreciate them because love is one of those feelings we don’t vocalize nearly enough. We assume if we love somebody that they should  just know, well that is kind of bullshit. I say if you love someone you should tell them every single chance you get. I also think the most important kind of love in the universe is self-love. Have you ever thought about what you love about yourself? It is kind of terrifying. That is exactly why I decided that for Valentines Day I would write a love letter to myself. But I didn’t stop there, I reached out to some amazing women with beautiful souls that I am lucky to know and asked them to write a letter to themselves. I don’t think it was easy for any of us, I got emotional during the writing process and had to keep walking away and coming back. In the end it was one of the best exercises I have ever undertaken.  Here are the love letters that I collected, I love these women:

Amber Letter

When Amber is not working full time, going to law school and mastering home improvement projects she likes to spend time on her patio with friends, wine,  and her beautiful basset hound Elenore.

Trish Letter

Trish roasts coffee for Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters and says a lot of funny and interesting things on twitter.

Rebecca Letter

Rebecca is Co-Founder of The Honey Agency, a fearless black wall painter, and mom to two beautiful beagles.

Savanah Letter

Savanah reluctantly lives  in Wisconsin (just kidding, Milwaukee’s not that bad). She is mom to puppy Hannah, partner to Cody, and enjoys pancakes, and Will Smith movies. She blogs about mental health here

Mayra Letter

After graduating from college Mayra fearlessly picked up and moved from Arizona to New York to pursue acting and writing, you can learn more about her career here and follow her adventures on twitter here.

Elaine Letter

Elaine loves a good theme party, good friends, and making everyone around her laugh. She is the first non coffee friend I made in California and one of my favorite people in the universe.

Tracy Letter

Tracy is Director of Sustainability & Corporate Social Responsibility for S&D Coffee, world traveler, and laughter inspirer ( I made this word up, I’m just going with it). She likes to organize and label untidiness with a glass of bubbly in her hand. She was my first real woman mentor in LA and I am grateful for that, you can follow her here.

Screen shot 2014-02-13 at 4.36.06 PM

Jacqui has a creative mind that sees art, beauty, and light in about every situation. She shares her passion as a teacher in Colorado and is mom to a curious and vibrant little man named Blake.

Maria Letter

What do you love about yourself? Share it in the comments.

Happy Valentines Day Girl

3 thoughts on “Hey Girl Valentine

  1. This is so so so great. You have some awesome friends! Every one of them brought a tear to my eye. Both doing and reading this post made me very very present to the abundant beauty in this world. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Hey Girl, what do you say?

