Lemon Honey Face Mask

I need to talk to you about beauty product anxiety and about how walking into Sephora elevates my heart rate and makes my palms sweat. I mean seriously, does anyone really know the uses for all the products in that store let alone how to apply them properly? Stores like this always make me second guess myself, my thought process  goes something like “maybe I do need eyebrow gel, I bet Sofia Vergara uses eyebrow gel.” Also when I wrote this post I used “eyebrow gel” as a space filler until I found another beauty product to name because I didn’t think it was a thing, IT IS SO A THING.  Anyway, the amount of product choices is so overwhelming that I usually just leave and opt for a soft pretzel glowing with buttery goodness from the mall food court.

My entire beauty arsenal would probably fit in a quart size ziploc bag. I admire women who can deftly apply false lashes and eyeliner on both the top and bottom lids (I have almost unintentionally blinded myself attempting both of these activities), but I am ok with a simplified regimen. Simple means makeup and hair takes a combined 25 minutes which means I get to sleep in later in the morning, and that makes me as happy as fresh warm donuts. Simple also means that I refuse to spend cray cray amounts of money on makeup, anti-aging creams, face wash, facial peels or any other miracle product I don’t know about yet.

Today I want to share with you one of my favorite home beauty routines: the lemon honey face mask. Let’s break down why I love this mask:

1. Lemon: Inexpensive, widely available and packed with vitamin C. The antioxidants in vitamin C encourage collagen production and help repair skin damaged by the sun, pollution, and other free radicals.

2. Honey: Also inexpensive, widely available, and packed with antioxidants. Honey is neutralizing and hydrating without irritating sensitive or breakout prone skin types.

Screen shot 2014-01-16 at 11.59.24 AM

The application of this mask is so easy! Take a fresh lemon, this is important because when lemon is exposed to oxygen for too long it loses some of it’s antioxidant properties, juice it into a bowl with a teaspoon of honey and mix. Apply the mask to your face, let it dry, and rinse off. While you are waiting for the mask to dry you can combine olive oil, vinegar, and a dash of Dijon mustard with the juice from the other half of the lemon to make a delicious salad dressing. I use this mask 3 times a week and think it fulfills the beauty promise every bit as well as the more expensive products.

Next time: figuring out why eyebrow gel is a thing and how to apply it to my face.

Do you have at home beauty tips I should try? Let me know in the comments

One thought on “Lemon Honey Face Mask

Hey Girl, what do you say?

