DIY: Fancy Pumpkins

This weekend I was going to write a blog post about more creative costume options than “sexy ___________(insert animal, cartoon character, or food product here) and then I discovered gold spray paint. I also then remembered how smart and creative you are, so I’m not worried about it anymore.

Back to gold spray paint. It started out so innocent. I bought four mini pumpkins at the grocery store, then I went on Pinterest. Bedazzling, ombre, carving templates, chalkboard paint, the decorating possibilities seemed endless! Then I remembered my craftiness limitations and settled on paint. I was cruising the aisles of Michaels (ps: STILL too early for Christmas decorations America) and next to the acrylic paint section was a can of 18kt gold metallic spray paint just patiently waiting for me. I thought, “well this could be fun” and tossed it in my cart, this was the beginning of the end. Items that got spray painted metallic gold over the weekend: champagne cork, glass decorative beads, champagne cork cage, a glass bottle, cap to said glass bottle, and my mini pumpkin. Here is how you can make your own fancy pumpkins (Bonus: if you don’t use Halloween colors/themes you can keep them around until Thanksgiving!)

Screen shot 2013-10-28 at 1.47.12 PM

The rest is about creativity and being honest with yourself about your artistic capabilities. The entire project was about a $20.00  investment, 3 hours of my life, and  I think they came out looking pretty festive.  Pro Tips: if it is windy wait to spray paint, also drinking wine while painting gives you much more confidence in your artistic ideas and abilities. Here is how my little pumpkin patch ended up:

Screen shot 2013-10-28 at 2.12.26 PM

Screen shot 2013-10-28 at 2.30.04 PM

4 thoughts on “DIY: Fancy Pumpkins

  1. They’re adorable. I hope you learned your lesson from the movie “Goldfinger” and aren’t dreaming up ways to turn your new crafting love into a Halloween costume.

Hey Girl, what do you say?

