You Are Better Than Fine

I keep a running list of words that exist in the english language that make me physically cringe. I know this might sound a little strange, but at this point you should know I’m a little strange and bear with me, I will explain and it will all make total sense. I really believe that any interaction is an opportunity to leave someone feeling better about themselves than when they first started talking to you. With this in mind it is important to me that I make word choices that are engaging, inspiring and exciting (did I mention I have been known to over-think things?). There are so many words I think are lazy or “give up” words…all of them are on the previously mentioned cringeworthy word list. One of the worst offenders is “fine” as in:

You: “how does this dress look on me?”
Opinion Person: “fine”

You: “Are the cupcakes I made good?”
Opinion Person: “Yeah, they are fine”

Ugh. I never want to be described as “fine” I want to be stylish, fun, original, memorable, and smiley (and Ryan Gosling’s wife) or I want you to help me to be better than “fine” with a constructive opinion. “Fine” is never OK, it is a lazy way of getting out of having an actual voice, so lets stop the craziness already.

So many of people settle for “fine” in their lives every day and the one place it really bugs me is in the way people choose to dress themselves. In most places in the universe  you have to be wearing clothing and shoes when you leave the house, why not make a choice that is better than “fine” or “comfortable”? The effort to get dressed is all the same (putting on  lululemon pants or jeans you still have to sick your legs in one at a time and pull them up) but the image you present to the world can end up much different.

Here are a few of the most egregious examples of settling for “fine” that, yes, make me cringe.  I know you are better than “fine” start dressing like it and let your inner awesomeness reflect on the outside.

“Fine” Shoes

Crocs, Toms, Sanuks These are one step up from slippers. Instead wear some cute flats, oxfords, or wedges. Still not a comfortable as your slippers? Buy some inserts.

 

Screen shot 2013-10-22 at 3.08.58 PM

Running shoes when you are not actually running. You know, just in case you get the urge to sprint across Trader Joes? Instead wear cute adult sneakers.

Screen shot 2013-10-22 at 3.16.47 PM

Flip flops, jellie sandals, Birkenstocks, and any other shoe that is only approved for the beach, ever. Instead wear flat sandals with straps.

Screen shot 2013-10-22 at 3.35.08 PM

“Fine” Clothes

Hoodies. Only appropriate when working out or house lounging. Instead try these equally as comfy options

Screen shot 2013-10-22 at 4.30.09 PM

Pajamas Pants. Never, ever. I am not even going to give you other viable options because all variables of pajama pants (sweats, polar fleece, etc) all of it stays in the house under your snuggie on the couch.

Exercise Clothes. If you are not getting into the car to drive to or drive home from an exercise class the following clothing items should not be worn in public: yoga pants, sports bras, sport bra tops, sweat pants, running shorts, basketball shorts, cycling outfits, and anything else that would be considered functional athletic sweat wicking clothing.

There are no replacements for these, go home and take a shower and change into non spandex clothes, thank you from the rest of the world that has to be around you for the rest of the day that you are not working out.

Leggings. I will let my man crush Clinton Kelly explain my feelings about them

4 thoughts on “You Are Better Than Fine

Hey Girl, what do you say?

