Hey Girl Guide To Hugging

Sometimes I wonder what life would be like without the internet: Would I call my mom more? Would I finally talk to the 5 people I see at the cafe I work from once a week? Would I know my  high school classmate got really into CrossFit and is now participating in some sort of fitness competition that resembles the Hunger Games? How would I make it through my lunch break without Buzzfeed? Obviously I would die without access to online shopping and Pinterest. I never claimed to use the internet for good, only entertainment

Yesterday the universe gave me a taste of an internet free life when my power went off for a few hours. I was totally fine until my laptop battery died and then I immediately downloaded the Amazon and Etsy apps on my phone. After scrolling through pages of items I am very sure I can’t live without (like this Clueless inspired candle set) I thought ” I know what I will do with my down time: write a blog post !” Since my laptop was totally dead I opted for the old school method of blogging…I wrote it down on a piece of paper.

This special handwritten post (with stunning illustrations I might add) is a HeyGirl How To for one of my favorite acts, hugging. Full disclosure: I am an avid  hugger. It can definitely freak out people that are non-huggers, like my best friend who used to freeze up with her her arms glued to her side when I would go in for the hug. Don’t worry she got over that and can seriously hug it out with the best of them now, it makes me so happy. You see, I just want you to feel good about yourself all the time, and for me, a hug says “hey girl – you are special get over here!”

Please enjoy my artistic renditions of the different types of hugs, which one is your favorite?

Hug HEader

HeyGirlHug1

HeyGirlHug1

HeyGirlHug2

HeyGirlHug2

2 thoughts on “Hey Girl Guide To Hugging

  1. At the church camp I used to go to in the summer when I was a kid, every morning after the sermon, they would yell, “LIFE CHECK!” and you had to go around and hug as many people as possible. I think the minimum was 5. Lots of side-hugs and A-frames. A few full embraces with cabin-mates. Anyway, it was a great way to start the day. Much better than the sermon.

    1. I LOVE this! I really need to figure out a way to incorporate this into my daily life. Can you imagine having a disagreement with someone and just yelling “LIFE CHECK” and hugging it out? Everything from conversations with my sister to presidential debates would be exponentially more awesome. Thanks for sharing

Hey Girl, what do you say?

