Mindful May

May has been a little crazy already, I mean I am writing this from a 747 plane that is bound for Melbourne Australia, I have already been on a plane for 15 hours before this from LA to Sydney. I totally lost a day of my life crossing the international dateline and consumed some questionable airplane meals in the last 15 hours so please just go with the loopy tone of this post.

Also this is what I look like after 15 hours of travel it’s sort of 12 year old unibomber chic, right? The person sitting behind me watching me take a selfie on my laptop was not weirded out at all, I’m sure of it.

Screen shot 2013-05-20 at 3.53.39 PM

Back to May being crazy. I knew I had a pretty full schedule that included a trip to Chicago for a wedding, a trip to Melbourne for work, my baby sister’s graduation, and  other important things like remembering to buy toilet paper. So I wanted my 30 day resolution for May to require minimal investment but still have an impact on my life so I decided to try mini meditation sessions every day to help me keep my sanity somewhat in check.

The internet is such an amazing machine, that I have no idea how it works, and I am so glad that it can help me find everything from the best of the Ryan Gosling “Hey Girl” meme, to kitten video montages, and reviews for the best mediation apps. After reading a few reviews of apps for my phone I downloaded Simply Being Guided Meditation for Relaxation and Presence. This is the perfect low commitment for me for a few reasons:

1. The meditation is guided which means a very soothing NPR correspondent type of voice walks you through breathing exercises and then visualizations like walking through a green forest, garden, or tropical beach.  My mind can’t  sit still and just “be” I am really jealous of people who can shut their inner monologue off. The sad part is that most of the time I’m not even contemplating important ideals it is usually something like “I wonder if Bravo will ever combine the Real Housewives of Orange County and Beverly Hills into one mega episode called: The Beach meets the Beyotch

2. The longest meditation session on the app is 20 mins. This is totally something you can do commuting home from work, at home during that 4 hour window of time that the cable guy is supposed to show up (but you know he will show up at the 3 hour and 55 minute mark), waiting at the DMV, or any other frustrating situation.

3. It works. I’m a lot more patient in line at Trader Joes, I sleep better if I mediate right before bed, I think my skin is clearer and my hair is silkier too…but that might be the fish oil I started taking, until proven otherwise I am crediting it to the meditation.

The app is only 99 cents on iTunes and people will totally think that you are more centered and balanced just seeing that you have it on your phone. Now if you will excuse me I totally missed out on Monday because of the international dateline, so much celebrity gossip to catch up on. More from Australia soon, until then deep cleansing breaths friends.

2 comments

    • I have not. The audio guides work pretty great for me because I can do them anywhere but I woudl definitely be open to trying video too, thanks for the recommendation!

Hey Girl, what do you say?

